Introducing Argentina soccer

By May 6, 2020Sports


Ok, you know all about the passion for football in Brazil from Ronaldinho’s promo, but what about Argentina football? Why is it that a country that suffers and lives for football in the same way as Brazilians does not get its fair share of the spotlight?

Granted, one of the reasons is his smaller trophy space compared to Brazil (2 titles in 4 finals for Argentina, 5 titles in 7 finals for Brazil), but still … To make it fair, I decided to send you to the Get used to soccer in Argentina.

Most of the players spotted in the semi-professional championships formed the team of the 1930 World Cup finalists, after which most of them returned to mediocrity.

DK Eyewitness Argentina

In 1931 the first nationwide professional championship was launched, although not all teams belonged to the national association. In the first years only teams from Buenos Aires, Avellaneda and La Plata formed the championship structure, later teams from Santa Fe or Rosario joined.

The national and metropolitan championships were held separately for several years. The Nacional was a 1-group championship, of which the six best teams would be eligible to participate in the Metropolitano next year. It was until 1985 that Argentina football would keep this structure after which the Nacional became the main championship.

In Argentina, football held two “seasons” from 1991, called the Clausura and Apertura (the closure and the opening), and played as two separate one-round championships. Each year, relegation is calculated based on a three-year average and the two teams with the lowest average descend, with 2 teams with the highest three-year average being promoted from the lower league.

Football – South America

I have to admit that the system they introduced for football in Argentina was a bit strange at first and had to get used to it. But I also see the advantages of such a system.

There are 5 teams that have dominated Argentine football since the Metropolitan Championship was founded: River Plate, Independiente, Boca Juniors, San Lorenzo and Racing Club have been fighting for the championship title every year for around 50 years.

Unfortunately, it is a case of “getting rich” and smaller teams have less and less chance of being crowned Argentine football champions, with these 5 (especially the top 3) dominating and monopolizing the competitions.

It is these five clubs that have brought many of the greatest Argentine footballers onto the world stage, although most of them switched to powerful European clubs in their home clubs after only a few years. Some notable examples are Alfredo Di Stefano (River Plate), Diego Maradona (Boca Juniors), Juan Roman Riquelme (Boca Juniors), Daniel Passarela (River Plate), Esteban Cambiasso (Independiente) or Guillermo Franco (San Lorenzo).

Leave a Reply